Home » The Collection » Permanent Collection

Permanent Collection

The NMWA was established in 1959 around the core Matsukata Collection as Japan's museum specializing in Western art.
The galleries feature pre-18th century paintings including those by Ritzos, Van Cleve, Veronese, Rubens, Van Ruysdael, and Ribera, 19th to early 20th century French paintings including works by Delacroix, Courbet, Manet, Renoir, Monet, Van Gogh, Gauguin, and Moreau and works by the next generation of artists, such as Marquet, Picasso, Soutin, Ernst, Miro, Dubuffet and Pollock.

This map of the museum interior is a section of the NMWA collections database. The NMWA received a Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Grant-in-Aid for Publication of Scientific Research Results during fiscal 2006-2008 to assist with the creation of this database.

  • Permanent Collection
  • Highlights
  • Saerch the Collection
  • Index